top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturekaybagusph

Why did I choose to go freelancing?

Updated: Dec 16, 2020

Before we go to the very reason why I suddenly changed my career path, allow me to share with you my experience.


Of course a short introduction first, Hi! I’m Kay Bagus. I am a simple probinsiyana living in Cabanatuan City, Nueva Ecija, Philippines. I am a tourism graduate at Wesleyan University-Philippines. I am now 23 years old and single haha. I was a customer service lead agent in one of the Philippines’ International Airport for 3 years. It was really my dream to work in that industry although the salary is a little "meh". There, I developed a lot and unlocked a lot of skills. I never imagine myself being promoted after less than a year of service, being assigned to people management task and multitask to a level where a 20 year old can't imagine. But I made it, after a month of struggling to all of "how" I finally get used to it and as time goes by I started loving it. It pushed me to my limits and there I start to grow more and more. I really fell in love with my job, I never really considered leaving until pandemic happened. It was a busy 2 1/2 year and everything changed in just a snap. And then I've decided to live with my Papa and try to grow as a freelancer.


The start of freelancing thoughts


2020 taught us a lot! And one of the most important lesson that it taught me is "my family should always comes first" cause if there's any regret I can't live with it's not being with my family while I can. It was really heartbreaking to leave my first love. But then I reevaluated myself, and yes, it helps me figure out a lot of things through experience but is it really that important that I can forget the thought of being able to be with my family? Well, you should know the answer right? And there I decided to resign from my position and take the risk of building a name in freelancing world.


As I only know just a little information about freelancing, I decided to enroll in Filipino Virtual Assistant Academy. There I started to learn more about freelancing. I have chosen to be a General Virtual Assistant to start with, and also customer service representative where I can put into use my years of experience.


I know it will not be easy and it will take time but everything I had was through hard work, determination and dedication. So what's the difference right? Either way or whatever path we choose to take the process will be the same, you will start struggling, slowly learning how to do it, you'll master the skills and then you will make it. The only thing that will matter is how much you really want to make it, because all through out the process it is what will keep you going.


And there is the reason why I go freelancing. You can also check me out on my Upwork profile to know more about me :)


Why I go freelancing
Freelancing


bottom of page